

## SUSPENSION OF THIRTEENTH MONTH PAY AND **END OF THE YEAR GRATUITY ACT, 2020**

(Act 28 of 2020)

I assent

Wavel Ramkalawan President

10th December, 2020

AN ACT to suspend the payment of the thirteenth month pay payable to workers under the Employment Act (Cap 69) in respect of the year 2020 and the end of the year gratuity payable under the Ministerial Emoluments Act (Cap 130), the Vice-Presidential Emoluments Act (Cap 245) and the National Assembly Members Emoluments Act (Cap 286).

**ENACTED** by the President and the National Assembly.

This Act may be cited as the Suspension of Thirteenth Month Pay and End of the Year Gratuity Act, 2020.

Short title

Suspension of thirteen month pay under Cap 69

- **2.**(1) The payment of thirteenth month pay under section 46C of the Employment Act in respect of the period from 1<sup>st</sup> January, 2020 to 31<sup>st</sup> December, 2020 is hereby suspended.
- (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), if any employer pays the thirteenth month pay to the workers in respect of the year 2020, such payment shall be eligible for exemption under the Second Schedule to the Income and Non-Monetary Benefits Tax Act (Cap 273).

Suspension of gratuity under Cap 130

3. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in any law, the payment of gratuity under section 2 (c) (i) and (ii) of the Ministerial Emoluments Act is hereby suspended for the year 2020.

Suspension of gratuity under Cap 245 **4.** Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in any law, the payment of gratuity under section 2 (b) and section 3 (b) of the Vice-Presidential Emoluments Act is hereby suspended for the year 2020.

Suspension of gratuity under Cap 286

5. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in any law, the payment of gratuity under section 2(1) (b), (1A), (2)(b) and (c), section 3(1)(b) and (2), section 3A.(1) (b) and (c) and section 4(b) and (c) of the National Assembly Members Emoluments Act is hereby suspended for the year 2020.

I certify that this is a correct copy of the Bill which was passed by the National Assembly on 2nd December, 2020.

Mrs. Tania Isaac

Clerk to the National Assembly